Teri Sue’s Thoughts

Archive for March 11th, 2008

…post a recipe!  I’ve got blogger’s block.   Because of the block, I’m going to treat you to a great recipe.  It’s an unbelievable strawberry cake that is very simple and you probably have all the ingredients in your pantry!  It quickly became a hit in my extended family and now it is requested at birthdays and gatherings all the time.  Here it is:

CAKE

1 package white cake mix

1 (3 ounce) pkg strawberry flavored gelatin mix

1 cup mashed strawberries

1 cup vegetable oil

4 eggs

1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk

1/2 cup flaked coconut

1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts

1)  Preheat oven to 350.  Grease and flour 9×13 pan.

2)  Combine cake mix and gelatin mix in large bowl.  Make a well in the center of the mix and pour in mashed strawberries, oil, eggs and sweetened condensed milk.  Beat on low speed until blended.  Scrape edges then beat on medium speed for 4 minutes.  Stir in coconut and nuts.  Pour into pan and allow to bake for 40 to 45 minutes – or toothpick test.

FROSTING

4 cups confectioner’s sugar

1/2 cup melted margarine/butter

1/4 cup mashed strawberries

1/4 cup flaked coconut

Combine all ingredients, beat until smooth and spread over cooled cake.

TERI’s TIPS:

I have used regular and sugar free gelatin – no noticeable taste difference.

I am not a huge fan of coconut and walnuts in cakes.  When making the cake for my house, I have omitted both of them (in cake and frosting) and it still tastes great.

I have used frozen and fresh strawberries – no noticeable taste difference.

Lastly, you can substitute the fruit for any other fruit of your choice, simply match the gelatin flavor and your fruit.  I have tried it with cherries and it is out of this world too!  If you try it, let me know what you think!  Enjoy!